floventis banner



port of milford haven
30 October 2023
Offshore Wind

RenewableUK Announces Winners of the Global Offshore Wind Awards 2023

Global Offshore Wind Awards 2023
Royal Lancaster Hotel London
©Steve Pope

RenewableUK has announced the winners of the Global Offshore Wind Awards 2023 at a ceremony last night at the Royal Lancaster London.

The thirteen main awards were made last night across three categories showcasing key aspects of the industry, including People, Skills, Health and Safety, Innovation and Excellence, and Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG). Our expert panel of judges for the night was formed by senior industry and government figures from a diverse range of backgrounds.

People, Skills and Health and Safety

The first Award of the evening Offshore Wind Health, Safety and Well-Being Award, demonstrating improved health and safety and well-being operations in offshore wind, went to RWE Renewables, with the runner up award going to Scottish Power Renewables Health & Safety Team.

Up next the Offshore Wind Energy Skills Award sponsored by ScottishPower Renewables, went to the RWE Technician Career Pathway Scheme for delivering improved skills and competence in offshore wind operations, and the runner-up being X-Academy.

The Future Leader Award – sponsored by RWE, went to Lynne McIntosh-Grieve of Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult, for displaying exceptional leadership in the industry, Claire Melrose, EDF Renewables UK was the runner-up.

The last award in this category was the Aspiring Leader Award, sponsored by Orsted, which went to Arturo Pulido Pérez, from the Ministry of Mines and Energy in Colombia, who demonstrated key leadership qualities and has potential to become a future leader in the industry. Our two runners up in this category were Ian Toothil; of SSE Renewables and and Kirsty Watt of OWC.

Innovation and Excellence

The next award was Supply Chain Innovation of the Year sponsored by SSE Renewables, which went to Shoreline Wind, for introducing a whole new concept to the offshore wind supply chain. The two runners up were Balmoral HexDefence and Fit 4 Offshore Renewables (F4OR) Programme by Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult.

Up next was Offshore Wind Gamechanger, sponsored by Mainstream Renewable Power awarded to Thrive Safety Leadership Centre by ATT for Ørsted for exceptional innovation which has significantly impacted the offshore wind industry. The runner-up was Kinewell Energy.

The next category was Offshore Wind Project of the Year, awarded to Seagreen Offshore Wind Farm, a joint venture between Total Energies and SSE Renewables, with the runner-up being Dogger Bank Wind Farm by SSE renewables, Equinor and Vargronn.

Our brand-new award, Offshore Wind Collaboration Award, sponsored by Equinor went to The World Bank Offshore Wind Development Program for demonstrating effective collaboration and partnership in offshore wind, the runners up were ORE Catapult & GE Vernova.

Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG):

First up in this category was the Just Transition Champion Award, sponsored by SSE Renewables, went to Ocean Winds, recognising their initiatives which prioritise well-being of workers and communities affected by the transition to offshore wind, with the runner up being North Star

Another brand-new award for 2023 was Environment and Sustainability Award, sponsored by BlueFloat | Renantis Partnership, awarded to Galloper Wind Farm, for recognising key innovation in specialist technology to reduce carbon emissions, with the runner up being Vattenfall AOWFL for its work “Resolving Key Uncertainties of Seabird Flight and Avoidance Behaviours at Offshore Wind Farms.”

Last in this category was the Equality and Inclusivity Award, sponsored by Hitachi Energy, awarded to Kent, for demonstrating innovative approaches and best practice in advancing equality and inclusion in the offshore wind sector, the runner up was WSP.

Our special category the Outstanding Achievement Award went to Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult, recognising the exceptional innovation and leadership in cutting edge technology and innovation the organisation has brought to the industry.

Our final category, the Peoples Choice Award voted by the audience on the night in two parts, one for the Unsung Hero Award, that went to Kerry Hayes, Floating Wind Development Manager at Simply Blue Group. The Personality of the Year Award ended in a tie-breaker, awarded to both Nicola Crawford Percival, Head of Regulatory Affairs at RWE and Jonathon Cole, CEO of Corio Generation.

RenewableUK’s Chief Executive Dan McGrail said:

‘‘Its been an honour to host the Global Offshore Wind Awards for a second year in a row. In the last twelve months the industry has grown significantly, breaking boundaries in innovation, collaboration and inclusivity

“I’d like to congratulate all the winners, runners-up and nominees this year, as the bar was set exceptionally high, reflecting the enormous talent of all the entrants. They have demonstrated great leadership, constantly innovating and driving the industry forward through these challenging times to a more secure and prosperous net zero future”.

Dan also thanked the sponsors Hitachi Energy, Mainstream Renewable Power, Orsted, RWE, Vattenfall, SSE Renewables, Scottish Power Renewables, Corio Generation Blue Float Energy – Renantis Partnership for making the night possible

Related Articles

Offshore Wind
7 December 2023

New Energy Era on the Celtic Horizon – ‘Catalyst’ for New Jobs and Clean Power
Offshore Wind
7 December 2023

Three Commercial-Scale Floating Wind Projects to be Developed in the Celtic Sea
Offshore Wind
5 December 2023

Awel y Môr Offshore Wind Farm Secures Approval from Natural Resources Wales
Offshore Wind
4 December 2023

Blue Gem Wind Shares Wind Speed Data with Wales’ Marine Energy Test Area
Offshore Wind
24 November 2023

Industry Plots Course for New Industrial Vision for Offshore Wind Sector